Posted on

Bangkok Almost Normal

Day 55: 16 April 2014, Wednesday.

Bangkok was almost normal today. It was a bank holiday for Songkran but the festivities had finished so it was not a day of water.

I had but one main objective for this day, to meet Luke and pick up my Debit Card.

I decided to walk to Chong Nonsi which was the sky train stop where I was to meet Luke. It was hot out, so I plodded along. Bangkok was very quiet, most shops were closed and once outside of the Banglamphu area there were not even many people. As I headed south towards the Phut Bridge there was a barricade erected…

Razor Wire Covered By Green Netting, Nice.

Razor Wire Covered By Green Netting, Nice.

I turned east along Charoen Krung Road and not long after in opened out and there was a big.. ummm… thing!?!

The Big Thing

The Big Thing

I kept walking, it was weird walking in such a heavy populated city with so few people.

I was walking through a large central median strip of a street and there was a pen of goats! Why there was a pen of goats and who owned the pan of goats will forever be an unanswered question but I like goats so I took their picture even though they did not seem to care.

Goats Are Cool

Goats Are Cool

Eventually I decided due to the elapsed time (I had been walking for an hour and was about halfway and needed to be at Chong Nonsi in half an hour) to take the metro. I was using a local tourist map as it was smaller than my Bangkok map I used while riding and it led me astray. I did not find the metro station an in fact threw away the stupid tourist map and pulled out my proper map. On that map I saw that Charoen Krung Road did not go to the metro station so I turned from heading north-east to a road heading south and a few minutes later in front of me was Chong Nonsi BTS, the sky train station I was looking for.

I was late though. It was two thirty, I had walked for two hours, and Luke was nowhere to be seen. I waited for forty-five minutes and then gave up. I walked down the road and saw a pay phone so called him. He was in his office nearby so he came and met me.

In his office we had a chat (and I drank a whole heap of water) and I finally got my Debit Card. The card had taken about eight weeks to get to me as the bank was a bunch of tossers and wankers and every other useless form of life forms available. But I had it now, no thanks to the bank, but a big thanks to David in London, Alf in Yangshuo and Luke here in Bangkok.

Later I walked down to the river and took the ferry back up river to Banglamphu.

Bored Locals On The Ferry

Bored Locals On The Ferry

It was a pleasant journey upriver, and the sun was getting low on the horizon so the heat was relaxing also.

Chao Phra Ya River

Chao Phra Ya River

Once off the ferry I searched for and found a restaurant. I needed a curry. I had seen some signs yesterday but they were all closed for the festival but they were open now, so I dined on a great Indian dinner. It was not up to the standard I was treated to in Yangshuo at Kali Mirch restaurant but it was not too bad…

That was it. I big walk day. I much prefer cycling, it was so hot walking around, when I am riding I at least generate enough speed to have a breeze blowing over me cooling me down at least a little bit. Walking is just stiflingly hot.

 

One response to “Bangkok Almost Normal

  1. CrazyGuyinThailand ⋅

    Awesome post 🙂

Leave a comment