Posted on

Deconstruction

Day 85: 12 January 2015, Monday.

I’m afraid it was another day with little to talk about.

I am due to depart this country of Australia tomorrow so today was the day I had to de-construct my bike and clean everything for the customs in New Zealand. New Zealand has very strict rules regarding importation of anything that might affect the flora and fauna. Therefore I was going to give everything a really good clean.

This didn’t happen. I just swept out the interior of my tent (without erecting it) and cleaned my bike. This all took long enough and it was humid with occasional rain so I decided to leave it at that.

Scott went to a bicycle shop and got me a box to pop my bike into, it was a decent size so it was easy to fit the bike in and I also placed my tent and chair in it as well. It was well over the maximum permitted dimensions and too heavy (the weight limit was twenty-three kilograms, my bike box was weighing in at around twenty-five) and my luggage ended up in two bags where I am permitted just one bag and the bike box for what I booked. I’ll ring the airline tomorrow and check out what is the rule on the extra bag, other airlines have been okay with an extra small bag… well I’ll find out tomorrow.

Otherwise I had a pleasant evening with Natalie, Scott and their children…

2 responses to “Deconstruction

  1. jon paskett ⋅

    Well done mate ! Great trip. Now come and ride from one side of Canada to the other !!

Leave a comment