Posted on

Keep On Going

Day 62: 20 December 2014, Saturday.

Today I intended to get to Mildura, only a measly fifty-five kilometres away to the east along the Sturt Highway. I said goodbye to Bob and Jean the fabulous couple I met the previous day and then it was time to ride. It was a light wind to accompany me which was neither here nor there in the hindrance/helpful department so I made good time across the generally flat terrain.

It seemed hardly any effort at all before I had achieved my days destination, Mildura, so I went to the information centre and sussed out what in the way of accommodation for a poor cyclist were available. It come to pass that Mildura is an oppressively expensive place to pitch a tent, think over thirty dollars for a patch of dirt and a shower! Fifteen kilometres out of town though there was a ‘Caravan Park’ that the very nice lady at the information centre said would be the cheapest though she did not have a price available.

So I departed Mildura after a brief visit to a supermarket…

Okay, I Had A Rest As Well...

Okay, I Had A Rest As Well…

I crossed the Murray River and was in the state of New South Wales though there were no signs to indicate the arrival to this state. I passed through the villages of Buronga and Gol Gol and then arrived to the ‘Caravan Park’ I was informed about. I went to the reception an enquired as to the price, twenty-five dollars for a powered site, I do not need power but the ‘Caravan Park’ did not have un-powered sites so no discount available. I felt this was too expensive and I really need to conserve my money so I got back on my Surly and hit the road.

Then it all went wrong.

First I noticed the front of my bike felt odd, the front tyre was going flat! Damn!!! I pulled over and repaired the tube as I have not had a flat front tyre so the tube was still in good condition, and found a small sharp stone stuck in the tread. It would have attached itself with the road tar I had noticed stuck to my tyre in Mildura and slowly worked it’s way through the tyre. I was back on the road after half an hour and then after ten kilometres I felt the bike was not handling right. I checked the front tyre… it was getting soft again! And the rear was going flat too!!!!!

It was unbelievable. I repaired both the leaks which left me with only one patch left as well as a new tube. As you can imagine I had had enough for one day, ever since I crossed the bridge to New South Wales it had all gone wrong. But I had to keep on going…

Luck was with me and soon I came across the Gol Gol National Park which had a sign letting me know there were camping areas in there. I went through the park gates and soon was bogged down in sand. The National Park was a sandpit! I had to push my road tyre laden bike and I truly appreciated how heavy the damn thing is! It was only a short way to the camping area which had zero facilities but at least I could pitch my tent under a tree.

The Trail Into Bottle Bend, The Name Of The Camping Area... Notice The Deep Rut My Wheels Have Left...

The Trail Into Bottle Bend, The Name Of The Camping Area… Notice The Deep Rut My Wheels Have Left…

It was not a nice place to be, there were too many flies. I cooked my food and even though my tent was in the sun still (I always pitch the tent to benefit from morning shade) I clambered into my portable sauna and hid from the flies and sweated it out until it darkened and finally cooled down enough to allow me to sleep…

82.88km 4:01T 20.6A 38.7M Total = 3891

Leave a comment